The Baker's Secret

The Baker's Secret

Large Print - 2017 | Large print edition
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
After her kind mentor is arrested because of his Jewish heritage, a young baker's apprentice in Normandy engages in discreet resistance activities, baking contraband loaves of bread for the hungry using surplus ingredients taken from occupying forces.
Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Wheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2017
Edition: Large print edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781432841133
1432841130
Branch Call Number: x Large Print Coll
Characteristics: 441 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
large print

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
greenacres
Aug 25, 2017

In a coastal village in Normandy in June of 1944, we meet a baker's apprentice who is forced to bake bread for the German army. Emma stretches the required 12 loaves per day to 14 by adding finely ground straw to the dough to share with the starving townsfolk. She knows that at some point her secret will be discovered. Life is brutal with neighbours belonging to the resistance being caught and shot or simply disappearing. Emma believes help will never come. By novel's end, it's June 5th, 1944 and there is an appearance of Allied bombers overhead but Emma still believes there is no hope. A bit slow moving at first, but a very satisfying ending.

martins_mom Jun 05, 2017

For fans of "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" although a bit darker. The central figure, Emmanuelle, the baker, is such a strong, self-aware woman and the other characters are all carefully drawn. I loved this book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top