Boy on Ice

Boy on Ice

The Life and Death of Derek Boogaard

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
The "death of hockey star Derek Boogaard at twenty-eight was front-page news across the country in 2011 and helped shatter the silence about violence and concussions in professional sports. Now, in a work of narrative nonfiction, reporter John Branch tells the shocking story of Boogaard's life and heartbreaking death. This book is the moving human story of a man who made it to the pinnacle of his sport. Widely regarded as the toughest man in the NHL, Boogard was gentle off the ice but a merciless fighter on it. With great narrative drive, Branch recounts Boogaard's unlikely journey from lumbering kid playing pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan, so big his skates would routinely break beneath his feet; to his teenaged junior hockey days, when one brutal outburst of violence brought Boogaard to the attention of professional scouts; to his days and nights as a star enforcer with the Minnesota Wild and the storied New York Rangers, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But, as Branch reveals, behind the scenes Boogaard's injuries and concussions were mounting and his mental state was deteriorating, culminating in his early death from an overdose of alcohol and painkillers. Based on months of investigation and hundreds of interviews with Boogaard's family, friends, teammates, and coaches, Boy on Ice is a brilliant work for fans of Michael Lewis's The Blind Side or Buzz Bissinger's Friday Night Lights. This is a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports--from peewees to professionals--and the damage that reaches far beyond the game. -- Publisher description.
Publisher: New York : W.W. Norton & Company, [2014]
ISBN: 9780393239393
039323939X
Characteristics: 371 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lionelxy
Jul 26, 2015

Very heartbreaking. The book helped me to understand hockey and to see the other side of the sport. The content repeat itself in some parts, but this does not stop this book being good.

athompson10 Feb 25, 2015

Heartbreaking. The author traces the life of one of hockey's most feared 'enforcers'/fighters and his all-too-preventable death. Sad and wrenching and beautifully written and much more than a sports biography.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top