Saving Lucas Biggs

Saving Lucas Biggs

Book - 2014 | First edition
Average Rating:
5
1
Rate this:
The one thing thirteen-year-old Margaret O'Malley is sure of is that her father is innocent. So when the unthinkable happens and he's sentenced to death by the cruel Judge Biggs, Margaret is desperate to save him. She'll do whatever it takes, even if it means using her family's secret -- and forbidden -- ability to travel through time. Margaret's only hope is to stop the chain of events that turned Lucas Biggs into a corrupt and jaded man. With the help of her best friend, Charlie, and his grandpa Josh, Margaret jumps back in time to a year when everything in her town was going wrong -- a year that changed Lucas Biggs forever. Together with a then-thirteen-year-old Josh, Margaret sets out to change the past. But the rules of time travel are strict, and as the forces of history resist, Margaret is running out of chances before she will be pushed back to a present where her father is doomed.
Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9780062274632
0062274635
9780062274625
0062274627
Branch Call Number: j
Characteristics: 279 pages ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Teague, David - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
LexiLou2
Apr 02, 2016

A strong stand for a youth novel with incredibly accurate colloquial language. The ideas and values at the center of this book is refreshing: caring for others as a wide community. Absent are the superficial focuses on body habitus and dating.
The ending felt a little flat and a little weak. However, this novel is sweet at heart.

NYPLRecommends Sep 04, 2014

NYPL Staff Pick
Thirteen year-old Margaret’s father has just been sentenced to death for a crime he didn’t commit. To save him, she’ll have to use a forbidden family talent for time-traveling to go back in time and try to change events of the past. Somehow she's got to change the mind--and heart of judge Lucas Biggs, the man who sentenced her daddy.
- Stephanie Whelan, Seward Park

r
Reading_in_Nanaimo
Aug 23, 2014

I am a fan of Maria De los Santos's adult fiction books and thought I would give Saving Lucas Biggs a try. Though this book was definitely written for a young audience I felt it had a strong story that kept me reading. I am a Quaker and really enjoyed this novel from a historical standpoint.

ChristchurchLib Jul 21, 2014

"The O'Malley family lives by a solemn vow to never use their "quirk" of being able to travel back in time. But after her dad is falsely accused of murder and sentenced to death, 13-year-old Margaret O'Malley is willing to break that vow in order to save her father's life. Here in 2014, cruel, corrupt judge Lucas Biggs isn't willing to change his mind, yet back in 1938 Margaret might still be able to influence him for the better. Suspenseful pacing and lots of heart make this time travel mystery a good choice for fans of Rebecca Stead's When You Reach Me or Charise Mericle Harper's Dreamer, Wisher, Liar." Kids' Books July 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/21839b92-4eae-4123-8f25-b6fadc74aa87?postId=e9701543-3b33-48ca-a3ab-c7a4eb3a9766

y
ychi
Jun 24, 2014

An ambitious concept that technically does not fail, but the story is unsatisfying in its straightforwardness and the reliance on magical realism as a deus ex machina. An attempt to connect themes such as loyalty, family and trust almost succeeds by the novel's end.

Quotes

Add a Quote

y
ychi
Jun 24, 2014

“Preston woke up. “Are we there?” he asked. He reached for my hand, because he was still halfway asleep, and in his sleep, he liked me.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top