The Glass Rainbow

The Glass Rainbow

A Dave Robicheaux Novel

Book - 2010 | 1st Simon & Schuster hardcover ed
Average Rating:
5
1
Rate this:
Beloved Burke hero Detective Dave Robicheaux returns to New Iberia, Louisiana, to solve a series of grisly murders. Seven young women in neighboring Jefferson Davis Parish have been brutally murdered. While the crimes have all the telltale signs of a serial killer, one death doesn't fit. Adding to Robicheaux's troubles is the matter of his daughter, Alafair, on leave from Stanford Law to put the finishing touches on her novel. Her literary pursuit has led her into the arms of Kermit Abelard. But Robicheaux begins to fear that Alafair might be destroyed by the man she loves.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2010
Edition: 1st Simon & Schuster hardcover ed
ISBN: 9781439128312
1439128316
9781439128299
1439128294
Branch Call Number: x
Characteristics: 433 p. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
Eil_1
Feb 01, 2015

Couldn't get into it. Perhaps another time...

j
JOHN HARKIN
Jan 14, 2014

I am a James Lee Burke fan, his poetic descriptions of his area are beautiful, the complete opposite to his characters. In "Glass Rainbow" the characters and their interactions are so vicious and graphic their language and portrayals are hideous, I am sorry but Dave Robicheaux and Clete are not readable for me in this particular book

c
charlie2911
Jun 06, 2012

I've just finished ' The Glass Rainbow' by James Lee Burke and here is another well known and very popular writer about whom I've mixed feelings - loved some of his books but not others. In many books, as in Glass Rainbow, Burke has a rambling, brooding, lyrical style that I personally find tedious. In this book the main characters are Dave Robicheux and family,and the inimitable Clete Purcell. He tends to draw wonderful characters and their actions, but his main plot wanders and introduces many sub-plots almost to the point of confusion (or am I just too picky? ).
The truest review I've heard of this book is from the Miami Herald - -“A novel as dark and brooding as a night deep in the bayou.”

p
Palomino
Jan 21, 2011

Noir hard-boiled P.I. written by a poet.

I don't even believe Louisiana is real place, I think the author makes it all up from his fevered imagination. And, how old did he say Dave Robicheaux is now?

I can't believe the raccoon survived this long!

r
roseymc
Sep 27, 2010

I couldn't wait any longer, so went out and purchased this book. The good news is that some lucky person will move up on the hold list. For fans of Dave and Cletus, it was worth the wait. I have been reading the Robicheaux series for over 10 years and it never disappoints. His descriptions of New Orleans and Louisiana and the characters he meets and the seamy side of life that he is drawn into as a detective, are illuminated by his masterful writing.
I read it in a weekend and was truly sorry it was over so soon. This is his best one yet ......

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top