Novels, 1886-1888

Novels, 1886-1888

Book - 1989
Average Rating:
Rate this:
William Dean Howells was the foremost champion of realism in late-nineteenth-century American fiction. The three novels in this Library of America volume perceptively and often satirically examine the conflict between Christian ideals and commercial success, the contrast between a society's rituals of courtship and the realities of love, and the way in which a community's democratic aspirations are contradicted by its class divisions.

In The Minister's Charge (1886), Lemuel Barker leaves his impoverished farm and comes to Boston hoping to become a published poet. Proud, innocent, and implacably honest, he is quickly plunged into the humiliating depths of urban homelessness. His plight weighs on the conscience of David Sewell, a minister who could not bear to tell Barker how bad his poetry was. As he witnesses Lemuel's attempts to live a dignified life in a city marked by cruel indifference and unexpected kindness, Sewell must confront the "complicity" he shares in the fate of every member of his society.

April Hopes (1887) was, by Howells's later recollection, the first novel that he wrote "with the distinct consciousness that he was writing as a realist." Alice Pasmer is the only daughter of parents whose dwindling investments have forced their return from Europe to New England. When Alice meets Dan Mavering, the easygoing son of a wealthy wallpaper manufacturer, her mother begins a careful campaign to bring about their marriage.

The heroine of Annie Kilburn (1888) returns to her Hatboro', Massachusetts, home after eleven years abroad and finds a once-quiet village rapidly turning into a sprawling factory town with paved streets, electric lights, and a department store. Unmarried at thirty-one, the daughter of a prominent "old" family, she renews ties with old friends and begins her life anew. Throughout, Howells portrays the faults and virtues of his heroine and her neighbors with affection, understanding, and wit.

LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Literary Classics of the United States : Distributed to the trade in the U.S. and Canada by the Viking Press, c1989
ISBN: 9780940450516
Branch Call Number: x
Characteristics: 881 p. ; 21 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at PPL

To Top