Book - 1991
Rate this:
'This volume includes The Seagull, a about the battle for power between a mother and her son which ends in tragedy; Uncle Vanya tells of two obsessive love affairs that lead nowhere, and a flirtation that brings disaster; Three Sisters in which three siblings wrestle with their futures and The Cherry Orchard where the old must inevitably give way to the new. Haunting and elusive, these four great late masterpieces have found in Michael Frayn a translator who perfectly captures their delicate balance of the tragic and the absurd. The volume also contains four of Chekhov''s early short ''vaudevilles'' as well as a substantial introduction by Michael Frayn. ''The critical clamour for a Complete Chekhov in Michael Frayn''s translation has borne fruit'' (Sunday Times)'
Publisher: London, [England] ; New York : Methuen Drama, 1991
ISBN: 9780413181602
Branch Call Number: 891.72 C51p-f
Characteristics: lxix, 381 p. ; 18 cm
Additional Contributors: Frayn, Michael


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PPL

To Top