Men, Women, and Aggression

Men, Women, and Aggression

Book - 1993
Rate this:
Why are men more aggressive than women? To find out, psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listened to the voices of ordinary men and women, as well as people for whom aggression is a central fact of life--robbers and gang members. The answer, she argues, lies not only in biology or in child rearing but in how men and women form opinions about their own aggression. Women believe their aggression results from a loss of self-control, while men see their behavior as a means of gaining control over others. Daughters are deeply ashamed when they get angry, but sons learn to associate aggression with integrity, courage, and triumph. Campbell shows how men's and women's different views of anger and restraint profoundly affect their actions--from rage in marriage to violence in the streets--and what this means for us all. The misreading of the meaning of aggression drives a wedge between the sexes, affecting everything from their ability to communicate with each other to the way that traditionally male-dominated spheres such as law or medicine pathologize and punish women's aggression. The book draws together two research areas that have had little dialogue with one another--aggression and gender differences--to present for the first time a theory of their interrelationship. The book also reveals the links between criminal violence and psychological processes common to all of us. A major contribution in the tradition of You Just Don't Understand and In a Different Voice , this book offers a new understanding of a vital issue.
Publisher: New York, NY : BasicBooks, c1993
ISBN: 9780465092178
0465092179
Branch Call Number: 155.3 C187
Characteristics: xi, 196 p. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top